“Tiffany Sly Lives Here Now” and WHY Should We Care

ABOUT WRITING with Dana L. Davis and her agent, Dr. Uwe Stender

 “Tiffany Sly Lives Here Now” and WHY Should We Care

 

Coperta carte Dana

 

By Maria D. Holderman

Dana Maria Dezotell

 

I care. I care because Dana’s book is about a “brown” girl, just like my daughter, and am tired to answer the same question if I’d adopted her. I care because these days, people of color, as well as immigrants of all colors and religions are bullied. Day after day. They are called names. They are used for jokes and political debates. The road to become a published “diverse” writer is not easy. It’s just the opposite. Agents and editors love diverse stories, but written from their point of view. Expecting from us to think just like them. So, every time when one of us succeeds, we need to celebrate.

My guests today are Dana L. Davis, and her agent, Dr. Uwe Stender, the president of TriadaUS Literary Agency. He is the man who saw the true potential and never gave up on Dana’s difficult journey. It took four years to get to this point– the book was launched on May 1st. But it’s something else that convinced me you should know about it: there will be a movie!

 

Who are you, Dana L. Davis?

 Dana L. Davis:  I am a writer of novels for teens, and also a Hollywood actress with previous series regular roles as: Carmen Phillips on TNT’s Franklin and Bash, head Cheerleader Chastity Church on 10 Things I Hate About You; modern day mimic Monica Dawson on NBC’s cult series Heroes; and Felicia Jones on ABC’s The Nine. I made my film debut in Coach Carter with Samuel Jackson, followed by starring roles as Lisa Hines in the hugely successful teen thriller, Prom Night. I am also a voiceover actress as Kelly on Star Vs. The Forces of Evil.

Dana picture

The title of your book is, Tiffany Sly Lives Here Now.” Who is Tiffany Sly? 

Dana L. Davis: Tiffany Sly is a sixteen-year old, whose life hasn’t been safe or normal for a while. Traumatized after losing her mom to cancer, she must leave everything she knows to live with the biological father she’s never even met. To complicate things, Tiffany has a secret: another man also claims he’s her father and she only has seven days to figure out the truth.

Why is she important?        

Dana L. Davis: When I was growing up, there were very few black or brown girls in books. I wanted my daughter to see herself in books, and girls like her on covers of books.

Was it the original title? 

Dana L. Davis: No. It was originally called “Seven Days of Stone.”

Dr. Stander, you didn’t give up. I sense your enthusiasm about Dana’s book (on the social media.) Why is that? 

Uwe Stander picture

 

Dr. Stender: I never give up. I think it has to do with being raised in a family that once literally lost EVERYTHING, yes EVERYTHING, except their own life, and they somehow bounced back, so you are taught, and learn, to never give up.

Dana’s book is so wonderfully written, and touches on so many relevant issues of today: family, race, people who suffer from anxiety and more. It carries with it a message of persistence and hope that many kids can find hope and encouragement in. It resonated with me on so many levels.

Dr. Stender: How did you discover Dana? I know she had a long way to get here. What are some important things for querying writers to consider when researching agents?

Dr. Stender: This is such a great question! Happy to offer my thoughts on this. To me… an agent’s accessibility is key. You want an agent who has time for you. So many writers long for the big, prestigious agencies but if an agent is representing J.K. Rowling, Steven King and John Green…do you really think they’d have time to help you hone your craft? Don’t necessarily think big. Think practically. What agent fits your style and/or personality? Follow them on Twitter or Instagram. Maybe get to know them and see if they’d be a good fit for you. I get so sad when writer friends of mine tell me their agent won’t return their calls or emails. You want an agent who respects writers and has a passion and respect for them.

How did you know your agent was the right one for you?

Dana L. Davis: His honesty. Uwe was so complimentary and genuine. I remember I was driving and had to pull over and just got this amazing feeling that he was the real deal. He also wasn’t afraid to tell me the manuscript needed work. I trusted him completely.

What is the revision process like between you and your agent?

Dana L. Davis: It can be tough. Especially if you’re the type of person who is set in their ways. I once had my agent tell me the entire last 100 pages of a manuscript I was working on was tough to read. “Unreadable” I think is what he said. LOL. I can laugh now, but at the time I was pretty frustrated that all that work was going to be deleted. Like I said before, you really need to trust your agent so that when you get notes that are contrary to what you want, you’re on board to make changes. If you think your agent doesn’t have a clue what he or she is talking about…they might not be the right choice and could mean it’s time to find a better fit.

Dana’s first book didn’t sell. She wrote a second one. Then, the third—this one. What is a typical first round like once a writer goes on submission? As you know, many writers have this question.

Dr. Stender: Think Slow. Then think slower. Then even slower than that. Now that you’re asleep. Wait two months and you’ll get your first reply.

That’s a long time to wait for one “yes.” What is the next step if an editor shows interest?

Dr. Stender: Believe it or not it’s a slow process too! They need to show it around to the other editors at the pub house. And if everyone is on the same page…it’s time for acquisitions. Which is basically a presentation to the sales and marketing team about why they think this book would fit their particular imprint. It can takes weeks or even months after an editor says they want to make an offer on your novel. Publishing is so slow!

Dana, what is the best thing about being a debut author?

Dana L. Davis: The free books! Lol. Kidding. I’d say the interviews. I really love chatting with people about my experiences as a writer or a parent or what inspired me to write TSLHN. It’s been so lovely getting to know other debut authors as well! I’m a part of a group of debut authors and we keep in touch daily and even have get-togethers. I have made so many wonderful friends over the past two years leading up to publication.

What else are you working on along with all the promotion?

Dana L. Davis: I do a lot of animation. I’m a voice over artist. That’s currently my day job. I’m also working on my third novel! It’s a fantasy and I’m outlining as we speak. I can’t wait for this story to be out in the world. I love writing so much. When I envision my retirement, I see me at my laptop still. I will always be writing.

Here is the link to the book trailer.

Website http://www.DanaLDavis.com

Instagram: danaldaviswritesnstuff

Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/DanaLDavis

 

 

 

Leave a comment